Lab Practices Committee


The Laboratory Practices Committee strives to:

  • Help develop, standardize and disseminate accepted laboratory practices for clinical applications of cellular therapy.
  • Participate in the translation of novel cell therapy products from the laboratory to the clinic.
  • Encourage and foster the participation of laboratory practitioners in all aspects of the society.

Projects & Objectives

  • Facility Sanitization White Paper: Published in Cytotherapy July 2015.
  • Benchmark for Staffing Survey: launched September 2013.
  • ISCT Annual Meeting: The LPC is actively involved in the organization of the ISCT Annual Meeting. The LPC topic interests are included in the the Quality and Operations Track. This committee also participates in the review of abstract submissions.
  • Educational Webinars: The LPC is involved in the planning of ISCT webinars.

ISCT PLC Forum. Forum now live. A ISCT Member Benefit. Not a member? Join now! Laboratory Life Line: principles and practice. Shop talk with link-mineded professionals to share ideas, best practices, experiences, mentor and problem solve. You're not alone, there is a community of resources with the ISCT Laboratory Life Line.

ISCT Laboratory Life Line

The ISCT Laboratory Life Line is an interactive resource for the Cell and Gene Therapy community to engage, troubleshoot and collaborate. Managed by the ISCT Lab Practices Committee consisting of members with a diverse range of skill sets including technical, quality, regulatory and operational expertise, the Life Line provides Users with a valuable source of information, ideas and robust discussion across all sectors of the Cell and Gene therapy industry.

Visit the ISCT Laboratory Life Line

The Committee

Headshot of Heather Garrity


Heather Garrity, BSc

Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA, United States

Headshot of Joseph Schwartz


Joseph Schwartz, MD, MPH

Mount Sinai Health System
New York, NY, United States


Naseem Almezel, BS, MSc
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Cell Manipulation Lab 
Cincinnati, OH, United States

Medhat Askar, MD, PhD, FRCPath
Baylor University Medical Center
Dallas, TX, United States 

Gloria Carmona Sanchez
Elected Member Technologist
(June 2022 - June 2024)
Andalusian Network for the Design and Translation of Advanced Therapies
Seville, Spain 

Cheryl Cox, MT ASCP
Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, FL, United States

Wanxing Cui, MD, PhD
Medstar Georgetown University Hospital,
Washington, DC, United States

Maggie DiGuardo, MD
Mayo Clinic IMPACT
Rochester, MN, USA

Steven Highfill, PhD
National Institutes of Health
Dayton, MD, United States

Jelena Holovati, PhD
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, Canada

Diane Kadidlo, BSc, MT(ASCP), SBB
Elected Member Technologist
(June 2021 - June 2023)
University of Minnesota
St Paul, MN, United States

Ted Kieffer, MD
Blood Assurance
Chattanooga, TN,  United States

Sufira Kiran
The University of Texas Health Science Center
Houston, TX, United States

Ashley Krull, PhD
Mayo Clinic IMPACT
Rochester, MN, United States

Nadim Mahmud, MD, PhD
University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System
Chicago, IL, United States

Karl Stasko, BSc, MPH
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA, United States

Michele Sugrue, MS, MT (ASCP) SBB
University of Florida
Florida, FL, United States

Yvette Tanhehco, PhD, MD, MS
New York Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY, United States